Book Review: Happy Mum Happy Baby

When Husband and I were contemplating starting a family, I decided I should probably do a little bit of research into the whole, ya know, raising a human thing. There are hundreds of websites to go on and, as I have most recently discovered, so many valuable blogs out there that can be really useful in learning about pregnancy, motherhood and all things baby (thank you fellow bloggers!).

But of course there are also books upon books to read and one I have found to be incredible is Giovanna Fletcher’s Happy Mum Happy Baby. I already followed her on Instagram (very loyally may I add) so I already had an insight into her life. The thing I love about her is that she seems so real and down to earth. She will quite happily post on her Instastory wearing her PJs, not a spot of make up while all sorts of toys can be seen scattered on the floor around her. For saying she is married to a hugely successful pop star (Tom from McFly) and has such a successful writing career, she seems very grounded and ‘normal’ if I may say.

IMG_6548
Happy Mum Happy Baby

Anyway – declaration of adoration over – because I followed her online, I saw all the promoting she was doing for the book. Thousands of women were raving about it so I needed to know what all the fuss was about.

I ordered it off Amazon (I think it cost around a tenner) and as soon as I started to read it, I couldn’t put it down. The book is a very honest account of her own pregnancy and parenting experiences, sometimes with imaginations not being spared. But that’s what’s great about it. She doesn’t sugar coat everything about starting a family and admits things that must be hard for anyone, including her miscarriage. She states very clearly at the beginning though that it is not an advice book. It is merely a Mum telling her story. Getting pregnant, carrying her children, giving birth, parenting successes, parenting failures, weaning, sleeping, holidays, it’s all there, and is written in her own witty, humorous and positive way.

It is also highly non-judgemental. She is very clear on the fact that every Mum is different and there is no allusion that if you do something differently, you’re wrong.Β I remember watching an interview with her and Tom on This MorningΒ as part of the promotion and I think the whole point of the book is to encourage parents to share their experiences with others, without the fear of being judged or criticised. She certainly leads by example.

I learned so much from reading this book so I would highly recommend a read, no matter what part of your motherhood journey you’re at. If you have any book recommendations, please let me know.Β I’d love to hear them!

Katie x

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Happy Mum Happy Baby

Leave a Reply

