Ahhhh, this is so frustrating!

I am now 9 days late for my period. 9. Whole. Days. So, obviously I have been so excited thinking that I might be pregnant. No such luck.

I feel like this has been going on forever too. Like an idiot, I took my first test this month a few days before my period was due. Negative. Not to worry though I thought, I’ve probably just tested too early and I’ll try again next week (I’d read up online that this could be the case). That’s what I did. Once I was 5 days late for my period, I took a test. Negative again. Bummer.

At that point the googling began:Β 5 days late, could I still be pregnant?

The answer? Yes. Apparently, my Hcg levels could just be low so the advice was to test again in a few days. And that’s where I am now. I took a test this morning and I’m still getting a negative result.

So, obviously the googling has recommenced and the verdict is that I’m probably not pregnant but it is not impossible. Basically, there is no answer!

I have an appointment with the doctor tomorrow to request a blood test but I suspect they are just going to tell me to wait a bit longer to see if AF arrives.

I can’t tell you how frustrating it is. I’ve never been late like this in my life so it is very out of character. If I’m not pregnant but was having my period then I wouldn’t be too bothered because at least I would know when I was next ovulating. But no period means no ovulating which means no baby.

Has anyone had a similar experience? Or can give me any advice? I need help!

Β 

A very frustrated Katie x

16 thoughts on “Ahhhh, this is so frustrating!

  1. I know the feeling. It can be so frustrating and disappointing. I was getting these a lot at the beginning as well as I didn’t realise my cycles were irregular(long luteal phase) so I was testing FAR too early and I was actually ovulating a lot later than I realised. Started using the ovulation tests that helped give me an idea. Keep going. I’m here if you want to chat as I’ve been there x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! It is so reassuring hearing other experiences. I feel a bit silly as I haven’t been trying long but it’s amazing how you get your hopes up. I might try some ovulation tests as maybe I’m not accurate with my estimations. Thanks again for the advice πŸ™‚ x

      Like

      1. No worries at all. I bought some cheap ones of eBay as the digital ones are expensive and when you’re testing for quite a few days sometimes multiple times a day to catch the LH surge it can get expensive. So cheap ones work just as well x

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve read all sorts about different brands being better than others but I guess they should all work to some extent. Do you have a surge then at some point? X

        Like

  2. Yeah so you have a rise in oestrogen ~4 days before you ovulate then that triggers LH surge which happens pretty much 24 -48 hours before you ovulate. So if you can catch your surge then you know if you’ve been busy at the right time or if you need to get on it. Plus once you know it’s been and gone You can relax on BD otherwise it does become a bit of a chore. Some ovulation tests pick up the oestrogen rise as well which gives you even more time to know when your about to ovulate. But most will be looking for the LH even the cheap ones can pick that up. Ive read so much on hormones and ovulation etc I could write a book!! πŸ˜…

    Like

    1. That’s so useful to know thank you! I am getting to know more and more about how it all works. You sound like you know your stuff! I will definitely look into getting some tests so I can be more accurate in the future x

      Like

  3. I remember this happening before I had my first, it was so frustrating because I was never late! It did happen eventually, but the little monkey gave us a run for our money! Good luck! Thanks so much for sharing with #Blogstravaganza xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

