She’s back in the game (air punch)

So you’d never think that a woman trying for a baby would be so happy to see her period.

But here I am.

If you’ve seen my previous post about my ongoing frustration, frantic googling and endless questions about whether or not I’m pregnant, then you’ll know that I’ve been living in limbo for 11 days. Being so late for your period but getting negative HPT results really messes with your head. You just don’t know where you stand.

This wasn’t helped by the Dr’s appointment I had on Monday. I was requesting a blood test to see if I was pregnant as the HPTs were coming up negative. If I was looking at this situation from the outside, I’d probably be thinking jeez woman, chill out and be patient. And I totally get why. But that is actually really hard at the time. I stopped drinking and was making changes to my life just in case, but if I’m honest, I didn’t want to have to do those things unnecessarily and I just wanted peace of mind. Not only that, but you know how difficult it is to get a Dr’s appointment on the NHS nowadays so it is always better to get in as soon as you can.

Anyway, his advice was this. Take another HPT in a week if you haven’t come on your period. Don’t drink – it never hurt anyone to stop anyway. Simple as that. Don’t get me wrong, he was a lovely Dr and was clearly right, but I still sat there feeling like an melodramatic twat.

And in the end, I had nothing to worry about anyway; yesterday I came on. I nearly cried.

Obviously I would have loved to have been pregnant but it means I’m no longer in limbo and can concentrate on trying again this month. I’ve got something to aim for, to focus, something I can plan (I have to plan EVERYTHING!). I think my body has just been readjusting now that the pill is out of my system.

quotes-about-inspirational

So, a quick list of the positives I can take from this experience:

  1. I’ve learned to trust my body – sometimes it just needs to do its thing
  2. Husband is away this week anyway so I couldn’t ask for better timing
  3. If I’m late again, maybe I won’t freak out about it as much because I’ll know it’s normal
  4. I can drink cocktails

Right now I’m pretty happy. I can carry on living my life normally and get back to enjoying such an exciting time in my life.

Goodbye limbo, hello Aunt Flo!

Katie x

14 thoughts on “She’s back in the game (air punch)

      1. Wait until you get pregnant and the hormones go crazy! Then when the baby comes and you’re sleep deprived! The emotional rollercoaster only gets worse and better from here 😊 x

        Liked by 1 person

  1. It’s very frustrating but the worry and stress doesn’t help. We tried for seven months before we had any joy. When it happened we had not long come back from a holiday. I believe that when I started to relax it made a difference x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Please hang in there and stay strong! I’m a great believer in thing happen for a reason and things also come when it’s right. I was told it would be very to for me to conceive .. bam i have 2 now and i can tell you it was worth every heart ache and tears over periods it’ll make you a better and stronger mother in the end xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ So glad it worked out for you. I know it will work out in the end but I’m just impatient! I do think that everything happens for a reason though so I just need to remember that xx

      Like

  3. I love that term ‘Back in the Game!’ I cant imagine how frustrating it must be each month hoping that this one could be the one! Hope you dont have to wait too much longer!! xx #Blogstravaganza

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

