One Born: A blessing or a curse?

I have watched One Born Every Minute for as long as it has been on TV, which is since 2010 by the way (7 years!! WTF?!). Every episode brings a tear to my eye for one reason or another, whether it be seeing the bond between the parents, the crazy cuteness of the babies or just that feeling of pure joy that you can tell is completely overwhelming.

IMG_0873

I was 18 when I first started watching it, and I don’t think it really sunk in just what you have to go through. This probably wasn’t helped by the hours of labour that are squeezed into just one hour. I used to think I bet I could do that!Β 

But now? Absolutely not.

Because we are now actively trying, the thought of pushing an actual human out of my v-jay-jay is bloody terrifying. How is it even possible? I cannot imagine the pain. The tearing, the stretching, the pushing *shudders at the thought*.

Saying that, you learn so much about what to expect, or at least I think you do. Lots of people tell me it is nothing like what we see on TV. So then I think that I might have false expectations.

So Mums, what do you think? Is One Born genuine?

Katie

x

12 thoughts on “One Born: A blessing or a curse?

  1. I don’t think it’s genuine. They sugar coat it. As some one who had a missed miscarriage I used to sit and watch it in awe – I then fell with our rainbow baby and I had this perfect plan – that plan didn’t happen. I know people who have wonderful labours and people like myself have horrid labours. I do think one born sugarcoat a lot of it…

    Like

  2. I don’t think it’s a true reflection of labour! I’ve seen lots – I’m a midwife! They have to condense a possible long labour into an episode so lots left out. It is nice to watch as there are lots of happy moments to see but don’t let it fool you into a false sense of security. Of course some labours are quick and problem free, some are long and problem free but some aren’t! X
    #Blogstravaganza

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m trying to stay realistic about it all and it is good to hear from a midwife so thank you for stopping by! I am excited for when my time finally comes though πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Hmm, I love the programme, but I agree with Ashleigh – I think they sugarcoat quite a bit of it. Of course, everyone has a different pain threshold and everyone has different labours! I was the same as you, absolutely petrified of having to push a human out of a very small hole, but once it’s done you forget everything you were ever worried about and the pain in that moment of holding your baby is gone. I don’t think you should have any expectations/rigid plans for giving birth, because anything can happen and it’s a lot easier to go with the flow than get het up at things not going how you thought they would. – But yeah, some women have long labours and it doesn’t always come across in the show. #blogstravaganza

    Liked by 1 person

  4. No one can tell you what it will be like for you because nobody knows. You can read and watch everything but it will be a surprise and your experience will be unique. Enjoy every minute, if you can. It won’t be perfect but it will be perfect. #Blogstravaganza

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

